Sleep in Windows Vista No Longer Works After Installing Logitech Software

After installing my new Logitech MX400 mouse, I was surprised to find that Windows Vista no longer goes to sleep.

More specifically, after I press the sleep button and after the machine does all the normal preparations for sleep, at the point when it would normally doze off, it immediately wakes up.

Having come across this issue in the recent past after installing my Logitech keyboard (before this blog started), I recalled the solution.

The problem lies with in Power Management settings of the device driver.

Start Computer Management, select “Device Manger”, expand “Mice and other pointing devices”, right click on the mouse driver, select “Properties”, choose the “Power Management” tab, and then uncheck the checkbox labelled “Allow the device to wake the computer”.

clip_image001clip_image002

I immediately tried the sleep button again, and to my surprise the computer woke up again!

It seems that when I installed the Logitech SetPoint software and drivers from the installation disk of the mouse, the software apparently reinstalled or modified the settings of my Logitech keyboard driver and also reset those Power Management settings.

I don’t appreciate software that makes those kind of changes without informing me. Dear Logitech, please change your installation program so that it actually asks me what power management settings I would like instead of assuming.

Aside from that, I am happy with the keyboard and mouse.

Leave a Reply

